Tangerine Tango

So you guys know Pantone right? You know… the company that does the color palettes that’s used in a variety of industries. The expensive palettes. Oh how I would love to have a set! Right? c’mon… you would want it too…

Anyways, I’m here to talk about the “Color of the Year for 2012” – something I should have done in January… or December (hahaha).

So according to Pantone, the Color of the Year is Tangerine Tango. It’s this reddish orange color and I think the name is pretty cute. For me, whenever I think of the word Tango, I think of red. So I thought it was pretty creative for them to name this reddish orange color, tangerine tango.

 

I, personally, like the color. I used to dislike orange. Now, I’ve grown accustomed to it, and even love it at times. It’s a really nice accent to interiors, especially with fabrics and when it’s against a type of blue.

Let’s take a look if the world has decided to follow the trend.

Pictured above, are pieces from the spring ’12 collection of Charlotte Ronson, Tommy Hilfiger, Peter Som, and Derek Lam.

I know I’ve seen a lot of the reddish orange popping up on my pinterest these days. I think it’s a nice color to accent a basic palette. Like the bride’s bouquet (pictured above); everything is neutral: beige, white, brown. Then you get this beautiful accent! it pops! Even in the wedding pictured below, the touch of tangerine tango, adds a beautiful accent to simple designs.

Well, that’s my little bit on Tangerine Tango. I’m thinking of buying an accent rug or something for my new room. OH! I should probably share that… I’m moving! to a new house a couple of neighborhoods over hahah but I’m excited because I get to paint my room and I’ve been picking colors the past few days, and I decided to go with  a dark blue-green that has a gray-ish tint. I was inspired by this image:

cute huh? I love the plates. My mother collects those blue and white plates as well, and we have it displayed in our dining room wall. I want to do the same with my wall, but with colorful plates. More like this one:

cute right? RIGHT? and don’t you just love those drawers as well? (I don’t know what to call it, but I just want to call it the awesome drawers)

OK friends! I shall post again soon!

8 thoughts on “Tangerine Tango

    • haha yeah.. I don’t think I’ll be able to have the plates right away. I’ve only collected 3 so far hahhaha but I will post pictures though of my room.

  1. i really like this post! i love pantone(!!) and the images you’ve shared to go along with it :) this year’s color of the year is starting to grow on me.
    i’ve thought about doing the plate decor too and even though i haven’t thought much into how they hang (nails? haha idk, i’m far from a handy man), what makes me hesitant is that it’s not earthquake proof haha. or so i think.
    as silly as this may sound, i’m excited for your move, too! my cousin is moving too and i’m jealous that he gets to “start fresh” with decorating :)

    • heheh pantone is amazing i want aaalll the colors. there’s different ways that you can hang the nails, I’ve seen it where they actually just glue the plates to the wall. The way my mother did it was pretty good too. There are these little plate holders, and you can mount them on the wall. I’ll take a picture of it one day and show you. It’s pretty earthquake proof because they didn’t fall at all when we had that big earthquake like two years back.

      hahah no! it’s not silly :) I’ll post pics! Though, the only downside to this… is that we’re moving RIGHT when the semester is about to end. -___-

      • oooohhh – those ways are much much better than what i had in my mind. good thing, too! now it sounds more do-able :) thanks for sharing! and i’d love to see pictures one day. after all, i am a visual person haha.

        aw, good luck with everything though! i can’t imagine having to deal with keeping my mind focused on school when a bunch of ideas for planning/moving/decorating keep entering my brain.

      • ah! ok, i came home to take a picture and my mother had taken the plates down! lol so I found it online… I guess it’s called a picture hanger: picture hanger that’s what it looks like!

        and thank you! yes.. I’m very distracted at the moment and overwhelmed with all the work that I have to do in so little time. I find myself researching for my classes while browsing through pinterest for inspiration. such a fail.

  2. oh cool! that looks promising :) i’ll have to remember those in the future – thank you!
    p.s. since this post is about colors… i forgot to mention that I’m a fan of colors/paint chips that i even have a wall of paint chip colors as wall decor on my plain boring white walls haha. just a random comment.

Have something to say?

