Circle skirt

Hello, Hello!

I am finally going to be able to start blogging! :) May I add that I am in love with macs… awesome computers.

Anyways, I’d like to share with ya’ll a little project I wanted to test out. I’m making a skirt for a friend of mine, as a super late birthday present. I’ve never really made anything, just a drawstring bag back in elementary, and this elephant sweatshirt I sewed together last year.

I decided to make a circle skirt, because I found this tutorial on pinterest one time. So you know, before making the real thing, I wanted to practice and see if I might encounter some difficulties while making the skirt. So I made a small skirt for my baby sister with fabric I just had laying around at home.

here were the results:

I had used white thread… because i ran out of blue.

I personally think… that circle skirts are awesome. They’re GREAT for twirling…

See what I mean?

She got pretty tired from all that twirling. Oh, and I love how the skirt just flows, and it looks pleated! I love pleats!

I thought that making this was kind of tough. I don’t have much experience with sewing myself but sewing round corners… I just can’t. It’s hard. I just need to practice more… or maybe there’s this secret technique that I don’t know about. ;P

My little sister loved that skirt, she wore it for the next 3 days! (well, except when she slept of course)

I just want to end with this quote I found the other day. I had to do a sketch for my color theory class and I sketched my sister and wrote it on the page.

“Bless you, my darling, and remember you are always in the heart – oh tucked so close there is no chance of escape – of your sister.”  ~Katherine Mansfield

– francis

2 thoughts on “Circle skirt

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that elephant sweatshirt! I didn’t know you made it! That’s awesome. As for sewing round corners, yea it’s a b*tch. You can buy a trim to sew around the edge and that makes it way easier. Or make your own trim, but that’s more work. Anyway, cute skirt Francis!

Have something to say?

